Special Service Mustang.net Forums

Go Back   Special Service Mustang.net Forums > Special Service Mustang Tech
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Special Service Mustang Tech Any and all technical questions for SSP cars.

Old 05-05-2017, 12:17 PM

Default Differential Rear Axles on Early SSPs

While putting more than 200 miles on 0327 this week, using it as a daily driver, I'm becoming concerned about the differential/rear axle. Sometimes starting out, or on slow turns when starting out, I hear clunking sounds. At speed it is making too much noise and there is a rubbing sound. I want to get everything mechanical in good shape before it goes to the paint shop and this has me concerned.

I know the 82's had issues with the rear ends. My question: What would any of you guys recommend I do to get this diagnosed and fixed? Are there shops that specialize in this? I don't have the knowledge or a hoist to get into it myself, and my regular mechanic shop does great tune ups, smog, and other routine work but they don't like to go off into tangents.
Old 05-05-2017, 12:49 PM

You may be having issues with axle bearings and/or clutch packs in the posi unit. Do you know when the last time the rear axle was serviced? If not, I would think about getting your car to a shop that specializes in rear end and driveline service and repairs. Here's one that I know of nearby that you can check out for yourself:

http://www.rearendspecialties.com/index.htm
1988 CHP #3035

http://public.fotki.com/Classicchp/
Old 05-05-2017, 12:56 PM

That's great information, Michael, thanks! I know right where these guys are, too, and since the paint shop is in the same area, I can take 0327 to RS first, then to the paint shop in the same trip.

I hope continuing to drive it now won't do it too much damage; on the other hand, all the clutches and wearable parts will have to be replaced anyway.
Old 05-05-2017, 01:30 PM
VIN guru