Special Service Mustang.net Forums

Go Back   Special Service Mustang.net Forums > Welcome!
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Welcome! New Member/Visitor area. Feel free to post up any questions you have about the site or the forums.

Old 06-29-2009, 12:29 AM

Question lew 94

HI, I'm a newbie from Ga. My name is Reese. I have a 91 LX Coupe 5.0.I am the second owner, had it since 1993.I had a Street Terminator Lentech AOD recently put in and it works exactly like Len said it would, with a 2400 stall converter it perked the 302 up.Anyone have any feedback on a rear gear.It presently ha stock 2:73s. I have heard everything from 3:27 to 4:56 for my combination.My mechanic recommends 3:27 since it doesn't have a lock up converter in OD and the rpm is a little higher in OD.Any ideas are welcomed.
Old 06-29-2009, 07:27 AM

Reese, welcome to the forum!

Is your 91 coupe an SSP? If so, do you know it's history?

Regarding gear choice, it depends upon your intended use. Will it strictly be a 1/4 mile racer, or will it have split duties on the street as well. What engine mods do you have and how much HP is it making? If you're looking for 1/4 mile performance, you'll also want to take into consideration the rear tire diameter and how it determines the final effective gear ratio. A taller tire (or drag radial) will reduce the numeric value of your gears. Dont' underestimate this - my taller rear 255/60R15 BFG's would reduce 3.73:1 gears to 3.59:1 gearing.

Once you know your final effective gear ratio for a given diameter rear tire, then you can look at your axle choices to optimize your top non-overdrive transmission gear for maxing out while hitting the traps.

To everyone out there, wherever you are. Remember, the light at the end of the tunnel may be the police chasing you down in their own Mustang!
Old 06-29-2009, 10:43 AM

Thumbs up