Special Service Mustang.net Forums

Go Back   Special Service Mustang.net Forums > Welcome!
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Welcome! New Member/Visitor area. Feel free to post up any questions you have about the site or the forums.

Old 03-23-2016, 11:50 AM

Default New from NC : what drives valuation of SSP vehicles ?

Hello and greetings from North Carolina!

I’ve been out of the old car hobby for about 4 years and recently started to think about SSP Mustangs.

I’ve spent about a month researching these vehicles, but very little information exists concerning what drives valuation.

Assuming that vehicle conditions are identical, are some SSP’s considered more or less desirable based on:

Number of cars delivered to a particular state agency?
Their service location (State)?
Marked vs unmarked vehicles?
Does service history impact price (CHP vs. USPS)?

As mention, I’m new to this marque so any input is appreciated.Thanks!

Bert Cooper
Old 03-23-2016, 02:29 PM

Bert, welcome to the forum. Let me give you one man's take on your questions.

Generally speaking, a multi-colored marked unit from a state agency with a manual transmission will be the most desirable SSP. There are exceptions of course.

Any SSP with agency documentation will be more desirable than an undocumented car. In-service photos can assist with finishing a correct restoration, plus it is great to see how a car looked while being used.

In terms of usage, the CHP, FHP, TxDPS, and SCHP ordered the most SSPs, but they are also the most popular among collectors (generally speaking) because those are the cars that most folks recall from their youth. Some smaller agencies will appeal to people because of a personal connection they have to that agency.